Best & Flanagan


Mary E. Shearen


Mary E. Shearen’s practice includes estate planning, probates, trusts and wealth transfer for clients at all levels of wealth. She provides customized, client-friendly services for individuals seeking estate planning help or help with estate services, trustees needing help administering trusts and trust beneficiaries regarding trust issues.

Mary is a fellow of the American College of Trust and Estate Counsel, served as Chair of the Legislation Committee of the Probate and Trust Section of the Minnesota Bar Association, and has served on the Probate and Trust Section Council and General Assembly of the Minnesota Bar Association. Prior to joining Best & Flanagan, she served as a law clerk for the Honorable Donald P. Lay, Chief Judge of the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals for the U. S. Mary is also a registered nurse.

Mary plays an active role in community affairs, having served as Chair of the Planned Giving Committee at the College of St. Catherine (now St. Catherine University) and as Secretary of the St. Catherine Alumnae Board. She taught estate planning at the University of St. Thomas School of Law. Mary also serves on the William Mitchell College of Law Planned Giving Advisory Board, and served as chair for Friends of St. Paul College Foundation Board.

Mary was honored with the St. Catherine University 2015 Alumnae Award. Mary has been named a “Best Lawyer in America” for 2014-2017. She also has been named a “Super Lawyer” (2005–present), one of the “Top 100 Women Lawyers in Minnesota” (2007–present), one of the “Top Women in Finance” in 2011, a Five Star Financial Service Provider in 2016 and one of the “Top 40 Estate Planning Lawyers in Minnesota” (2007–08).



  • William Mitchell College of Law, J.D., summa cum laude, Valedictorian, 1988
  • College of St. Catherine, B.A., Nursing, 1975

Practice Areas


  • State of Minnesota, 1988
  • U.S. Court of Appeals, 8th Circuit, 1989

Professional Associations & Memberships

  • American Bar Association
  • Minnesota State Bar Association
  • (Probate and Trust Law Section; Legislation Committee, member 1999-present; Chair 2004-08; Member, Section Council, 2005-2011)
  • Hennepin County Bar Association